Posted by: Emily Schmutz Garcia | February 11, 2013

Come, Come Ye Saints

“Come, come ye Saints, no toil nor labor fear; but with joy wend your way.
Though hard to you this journey may appear, Grace shall be as your day.
‘Tis better far for us to strive our useless cares from us to drive;
Do this, and joy your hearts will swell- All is well! All is well!

Why should we mourn or think or lot is hard? ‘Tis not so; all is right.
Why should we think to earn a great reward if we now shun the fight?
Gird up your loins; fresh courage take. Our God will never us forsake;
And soon we’ll have this tale to tell- All is well! All is well!”
-William Clayton

I’ve kind of strongly disliked this song since my days at Brigham Young University. Every hour on the hour the bell tower chimes, “Come, come ye Saints.” Just not that big of a fan, until today.

Today at the end of a great relief society lesson about motivation and making choices, we sang this song. This song was what I needed this week and possibly just what I’ve been needing for a bit.

My mom had knee replacement surgery on January 9th. “No toil nor labor fear.” Baby David and I have been spending our week days out in Moreno Valley helping her. It has been hard. I feel weighed down. I have been stressed and grumpy. My beloved husband has been finishing applications and now preparing for interviews for business school. It is very exciting and stressful. It has been a busy and rough time. “Why should we mourn or think or lot is hard?”

Today this song hit me. It was that feeling that Heavenly Father is speaking directly to you. Sometimes it is through hearing another person’s testimony or reading a scripture. I have discovered that for me, I feel his loving embrace a great deal through music-perhaps because that is the one time I am paying close enough attention. Either way, I felt like this song was gently and firmly telling me to “gird up my loins, fresh courage take. Our God will never us forsake.” And soon I, too, will have this tale to tell- All is well! All is well!

Here is my favorite version of “Come, Come Ye Saints.” The music is only on the first two minutes of the clip.

Leave a Reply

Categories

